About Us - Who We Are


Publication: 2014-01-02



Name:Voice Of the People


Voice Of the People (VOP) is a new non-partisan organization that seeks to re-anchor our democracy in its founding principles by giving ‘We the People' a greater role in government. VOP furthers the use of innovative methods and technology to give the American people a more effective voice in the policymaking process.


  • VOP Leadership Team

  • Steven KullSteven Kull, Founder and President, is a prominent public opinion expert who has worked for two decades with policymakers in the U.S. Congress and the Executive Branch to facilitate their understanding of the views of the American people. He is a director of the Program for Public Consultation, a joint program of the Center on Policy Attitudes and the School of Public Policy at the University of Maryland.

  • Richard ParsonsRichard Parsons, Executive Director, is a public affairs professional with more than 25 years of business and civic advocacy, communications and public policy experience, including grassroots organizing and legislative advocacy at the federal, state and local levels.

  • VOP Advisory Board

  • Hon. Michael D. Barnesformer U.S. Representative (D-MD)

  • Hon. Bonnie Campbellformer Attorney General of Iowa (D-IA)

  • Hon. Michael N. Castleformer Governor and U.S. Representative (R-DE)

  • Hon. Byron Dorganformer U.S. Senator (D-ND)

  • Hon. Vic Fazioformer U.S. Representative (D-CA)

  • Hon. Bill Frenzelformer U.S. Representative (R-MN)

  • Hon. Martin Frostformer U.S. Representative (D-TX)

  • Hon. Nancy Johnsonformer U.S. Representative (R-CT)

  • Hon. James R. Jonesformer U.S. Representative (D-OK)

  • Hon. Jim Nussleformer U.S. Representative (R-IA)

  • Hon. Bob Packwoodformer U.S. Senator (R-OR)

  • Hon. John Porterformer U.S. Representative (R-IL)

  • Hon. John Tannerformer U.S. Representative (D-TN)

  • Hon. Kathleen Kennedy Townsendformer Lt. Governor (D-MD)

  • I.M. ‘Mac' DestlerSaul Stern Professor of Civic Engagement, University of Maryland

  • Gloria DuffyCommonwealth Club of California

  • Jack FarisFormer Vice President, University of Washington

  • Carlos GutierrezFormer Sec. of Commerce under George W. Bush, CEO of Kellogg

  • Katie HallCEO of Hall Capital & Chair of the Board of trustees, Princeton University

  • Lawrence JacobsWalter & Joan Mondale Chair for Political Studies, University of Minnesota

  • Kathleen Hall JamiesonDirector, Annenberg Public Policy Center, University of Pennsylvania

  • Marvin KalbPulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting

  • Andrew KlineAmerican University

  • Jon KrosnickFrederic Glover Professor in Humanities and Social Sciences, Stanford University

  • Gregory G. LebelThe George Washington University

  • Lawrence LessigRoy Furman Professor of Law and Leadership, Harvard Law School

  • Carolyn LukensmeyerExecutive Director, National Institute for Civil Discourse

  • Benjamin PageGordon Fulcher Professor of Decision Making, Northwestern University

  • Jennifer PotterFormer CEO, Initiative for Global Development

  • William RuckelshausEPA Administrator under Richard Nixon & George Bush

  • Thomas SchellingNobel Laureate, University of Maryland

  • Robert ShapiroColumbia University

  • D. Wayne SilbyFounding Chair, Calvert Foundation

  • John SteinerTranspartisan Policy Center

  • Talia StroudAssistant Director, Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Participation at University of Texas

  • Wendy WillisPolicy Consensus Initiative, Portland State University

  • Daniel YankelovichPublic Agenda Foundation

  • VOP Major Funders

  • The Circle Foundation

  • The Democracy Fund

  • Rockefeller Brothers Foundation