Publication: 2013-09-22



Name:Owen Ambur


Name:The Governance Lab



  • New York UniversityGovLab operates as a network of networks. Housed at New York University and funded by grants from the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, the GovLab encompasses two major initiatives: GovLab Research and GovLab Academy.

  • John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

  • John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

  • GovLab ResearchGovLab Research convenes an interdisciplinary network of thought leaders across academia, government, and industry to analyze novel forms of collaborative problem-solving in public and private institutions. Despite advances in collaborative governance, there has been little systematic study of what approaches work best under varied conditions. We produce scholarly research and map real-world developments to create a robust understanding of how scientific and technological advances can be harnessed to improve 21st century governance.

  • GovLab AcademyGovLab Academy inspires, trains and catalyzes the next generation of leaders, entrepreneurs, and problem-solvers in collaborative governance. Through project-based work, multidisciplinary teams of graduate students hone their analytical, empirical and design skills by developing, iterating on and implementing innovative platforms and projects. Members of the Academy take charge of their own learning and develop new and diverse skills under the mentorship of a wide-ranging network of professional advisors. Members will also have access to a unique curriculum that synthesizes insights from social and behavioral sciences, history, public policy, design and engineering to inform the project-based learning experience.

  • The GovLab Team

  • Aaron Cohen

  • Adam Clifford

  • Andrew Young

  • Antony Declercq

  • Asher Novek

  • Beth Simone Noveck

  • Christina Rogawski

  • Claudia Paz

  • Cosmo Fujiyama

  • David Dembo

  • Dorothy Shapiro

  • Grace Abuhamad

  • Jillian Raines

  • Joel Gurin

  • Justin Longo

  • K. Sabeel Rahman

  • Laura Manley

  • Layla Amjadi

  • Luis Daniel

  • Manik Suri

  • Mehan Jayasuriya

  • Sean Brooks

  • Seena Jon Ghaznavi

  • Shankar Prasad

  • Shruti H. Sannon

  • Stefaan Verhulst

  • GovLab NetworkGovLab brings together exciting minds from academia, government, and the private sector to consider the impact of technology on democratic institutions. In addition to our core staff, we have a wide network of collaborators and thought-partners that convenes to discuss and help frame our work, our research, and our goals. The original planning group assembled to develop an agenda for a potential MacArthur Foundation Research Network including the design for research projects to advance and study opening government includes the following participants:

  • José M. AlonsoWorld Wide Web Foundation, @josemalonso

  • Adrian BejanDuke University

  • Yochai BenklerHarvard University, @yochaibenkler

  • Sir Tim Berners-LeeWorld Wide Web Consortium, @timberners_lee

  • John Seely BrownThe Center for the Edge, @jseelybrown

  • Valerie ChangMacArthur Foundation

  • Susan CrawfordHarvard Kennedy School and Harvard Law School, ‪@scrawford

  • Archon FungHarvard Kennedy School, @arfung

  • Joel GurinOrgPedia

  • Richard HackmanHarvard University

  • David HalpernTen Downing Street and Cabinet Office

  • Jim HendlerRensselaer Polytechnic Institute, @jahendler

  • Joi ItoMassachusetts Institute of Technology Media Lab, ‪@Joi

  • Steven Berlin JohnsonAuthor, @stevenbjohnson

  • Stephen KosslynStanford University

  • David LazerNortheastern University, ‪@davidlazer

  • Richard MatasarNew York University

  • Anita M. McGahanUniversity of Toronto Rotman School of Management, @anitamcgahan

  • Patrick MeierQatar Foundation Computing Research Institute, ‪@PatrickMeier

  • Geoff MulganNational Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts, ‪@geoffmulgan

  • Bitange NdemoKenya Ministry of Information and Communications, @bantigito

  • Beth Simone NoveckNew York University Wagner School of Public Service and Massachusetts Institute of Technology Media Lab, ‪@bethnoveck

  • Tim O'ReillyO'Reilly Media, @timoreilly

  • Jen PahlkaCode for America, ‪@pahlkadot

  • Theresa PardoUniversity at Albany State University of New York, ‪@tpardo

  • Tiago PeixotoThe World Bank, ‪@participatory

  • Alex `Sandy' PentlandMassachusetts Institute of Technology, ‪@alex_pentland

  • Shankar PrasadNew York University Wagner School of Public Service, @ProfSPrasad

  • Nii QuaynorGhana National Information Technology Agency

  • Lee RainiePew Internet Research Center, ‪@lrainie

  • Rakesh RajaniTwaweza, @rakeshrajani

  • Ellen SchallNew York University Wagner School of Public Service, @elschall

  • Nigel ShadboltUniversity of Southampton and Open Data Institute, ‪@Nigel_Shadbolt

  • Sonal ShahHarvard Kennedy School

  • Clay ShirkyNew York University, @cshirky

  • Rohan SilvaTen Downing Street

  • Tom SteinbergmySociety, ‪@steiny

  • Jon TaplinUniversity of Southern California

  • Damian ThormanKnight Foundation, @dthorman

  • Martin TisnéOmidyar Network, @martintisne

  • Chris VeinThe World Bank

  • Stefaan G. VerhulstNew York University Wagner School of Public Service, @sverhulst

  • Aleem WaljiWorld Bank, @alwalji

  • Ari WallachSynthesis Corp., @ariw

  • Duncan WattsMicrosoft Research, ‪@duncanjwatts

  • Jeremy WeinsteinStanford University

  • Connie YowellMacArthur Foundation, @connie