Publication: 2013-10-16



Name:Owen Ambur


Name:National Freedom of Information Coalition


We are a nonpartisan alliance of citizen-driven nonprofit freedom of information organizations, academic and First Amendment centers, journalistic societies and attorneys... History -- The NFOIC first met in 1989 in Dallas, Texas. It was called the National Freedom of Information Assembly. The meeting arose out of a need to support specialized First Amendment organizations with the expressed goal to protect the public's right to know. Known as "free standing,'' these organizations began around the country in response to a recognition that government entities and officials were not always willing to recognize the public's right to access public records and meetings, a necessity in a democracy. The Assembly met again in Dallas in 1991, the 200th anniversary of the Bill of Rights, and planned to meet in January of the next year to formulate a plan for mutual support. At that meeting, the National FOI Assembly was formally renamed the National Freedom of Information Coalition.


  • Information Organizations

  • Academic Centers

  • First Amendment Centers

  • Journalistic Societies

  • Attorneys

  • Donald W. Reynolds Journalism InstituteCurrently, NFOIC headquarters are housed in the new Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute.

  • NFOIC Board of DirectorsA board of directors governs the NFOIC. Each board member serves a three-year term. The chairman designate serves for two years and may be reelected for one term. The board meets at least twice a year, once in conjunction with the coalition's annual meeting.

  • Hyde PostPresident -- President, Georgia First Amendment Foundation

  • Peter ScheerVice President -- Executive Director, First Amendment Coalition

  • Katherine GarnerSecretary -- KLGarner Consulting

  • Mal LearyTreasurer -- Managing Editor, The Maine Capitol Connection Channel

  • Frank GibsonDirector and past President -- Public Policy Director, Tennessee Press Association

  • Mark HorvitDirector -- Executive Director, Investigative Reporters and Editors

  • Don LindleyDirector -- Managing Editor, The Durango Herald

  • Sarah NordgrenDirector -- Director, Content Development and Alliances, The Associated Press

  • Mitchell W. PearlmanDirector -- Lecturer in Law and Journalism at the University of Connecticut; Executive Director Emeritus, Connecticut FOI Commission; Secretary, Connecticut Foundation for Open Government

  • Barbara A. PetersenDirector and Past President -- President, Florida First Amendment Foundation

  • Megan RhyneDirector -- Executive Director, Virginia Coalition for Open Government

  • Thomas M. SusmanDirector -- Director, Governmental Affairs Office, American Bar Association

  • John S. and James L. Knight FoundationThe NFOIC is supported by a grant from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, an organization supporting transformational ideas that promote quality journalism, advance media innovation, engage communities and foster the arts.

  • NFOIC Staff

  • Kenneth F. BuntingExecutive Director -- Missouri School of Journalism

  • Melissa MacGowanGrants/Contracts Assistant -- Missouri School of Journalism