Bylaws of the National Association of Government Communicators


Start: 2012-06-30, Publication: 2013-04-04



Name:Owen Ambur


Name:National Association of Government Communicators


The principal purpose of the NAGC is to advance communications as an essential professional resource at every level of national, state, and local government.


  • NAGC Board of Directors

  • Glen ThomasPresident - Supervisor, Communications & Public Relations, Memphis Light, Gas & Water

  • John S. VerricoPresident-Elect - Spokesman, Science & Technology Directorate, Department of Homeland Security

  • Kathryn StokesTreasurer - Strategic Affairs Officer, Mississippi Department of Employment Security

  • Jennifer LohrImmediate Past President - National Capital Chapter, Information & Education Coordinator, Office of Risk Assessment & Cost Benefit Analysis, OCE, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture

  • Beth Armstrong, MAM, CAEExecutive Director/Secretary - Executive Director, NAGC

  • Marisa Ellison, MBCCompetitions Director - Customer Relations Manager, Missouri Department of Transportation, Northeast District - Hannibal

  • Laura KirkpatrickMembership and Volunteer Director - Public Information Officer, Monmouth County Department of Public Information

  • Derrick G. Silas, Sr.Communications Director - Web Communications Manager, City of Enid

  • Stacy JohnstonMarketing Director - Public Relations Specalist, New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions, Office of Communications and Marketing

  • Liz HammProfessional Development Director - Public Information Officer, Bernalillo County Government

  • Wendy C. Wagner-SmithEducation Director - Senior Writer/Editor, Federal Housing Finance Agency, Office of Congressional Affairs & Communications

  • NAGC Staff

  • Elizabeth B. Armstrong, MAM, CAEExecutive Director and Secretary - As NAGC Executive Director and Secretary on the NAGC Board of Directors, Ms. Armstrong oversees day-to-day management, supervises staff support, and manages governance issues. She is President of Association and Society Management International, Inc. (ASMI), the firm that serves IAEM.

  • Dawn Shiley-DanzeisenCommunications Manager - Ms. Shiley-Danzeisen is NAGC's Communications Manager and staff liaison for public relations and publications.

  • Michelle SavoieProgram Manager - Ms.Savoie is NAGC's Program Manager and staff liaison for the NAGC Communications School and other events. She also is staff liaison for the Blue Pencil & Gold Screen Awards Competition.

  • Karen ThompsonWebsite Content Manager - Ms. Thompson is Content Manager of the NAGC website and works on special projects as needed.

  • Kristina WiseExhibit/Sponsor Coordinator - Ms. Wise coordinates exhibit booth sales and sponsorships for the NAGC Communications School.

  • Mary AcklesonMeetings Registrar, Member Services - Ms. Ackleson is Meetings Registrar for the NAGC Communications School and assists with member services as needed.

  • Hui-Ling LiangFinance Manager - Ms. Liang is NAGC's Accounting and Finance Manager.

  • Barbara TyeryarFinancial Assistant - Ms.Tyeryar assists with matters related to NAGC's Accounting and Finance.

  • Debbie VincentMember Services Coordinator - Ms. Vincent is NAGC's Member Services Coordinator, manages the membership database, and processes membership dues and registration fees.