About the IPTC


Publication: 2013-07-27



Name:Owen Ambur


Name:International Press Telecommunications Council


The IPTC, based in London, UK, is a consortium of the world's major news agencies, news publishers and news industry vendors. It develops and maintains technical standards for improved news exchange that are used by virtually every major news organization in the world.


  • IPT Board of Directors

  • Vincent BabyVincent Baby of Thomson Reuters is the Chairman of the IPTC Board since 2011.

  • Michael SteidlMichael Steidl is the Managing Director of the IPTC.

  • Stéphane GuérillotAFP

  • Andreas GebhardGetty Images

  • Guowei WuXinhua

  • IPTC Standards CommitteeThe Standards Committee is IPTC's body for formal approval of all standards and acts as steering group for the technical development of new standards and the ongoing review of all standards in use.

  • Stéphane GuérillotAFP -- Standards Committee Chairperson

  • IPTC MembersIPTC is an organization based on members. The IPTC membership consists of news agencies, news agency alliances, newspaper publishers' organisations, individual newspapers and system vendors. The membership has representatives from all continents except South America IPTC provides two types of membership: Voting Members: this is open to organizations and companies concerned with news collection, distribution and publishing. Associate Members: this is open to organizations and companies as for the Nominating membership and for system vendors supporting the news industry. Honorary Members: this type of membership is awarded to long-time member representatives for their substantial contributions to the IPTC.

  • IPTC Voting Members

  • Agence France-Presse (afp)France

  • ANGOP - Agencia AngolaPressAngola

  • ANSAItaly

  • Austria Presse Agentur (APA)Austria

  • BBC MonitoringUK

  • Business WireUSA

  • CNW Group Ltd.Canada

  • dapd media holdingGermany

  • Deutsche Presse-Agentur (dpa)Germany

  • Getty Images, Inc.USA

  • Japan Newspaper Publishers & Editors Association (NSK)Japan

  • KeystoneSwitzerland

  • Korea Press FoundationKorea

  • KUNA Kuwait News AgencyKuwait

  • Kyodo NewsJapan

  • MarketwireCanada

  • NLA media access limitedUK

  • PLUS CoalitionUSA

  • PR NewswireUK

  • Press Association LtdUK

  • QNA Qatar News AgencyQatar

  • The Associated Press (AP)USA

  • The New York Times CompanyUSA

  • Thomson ReutersUSA

  • Tidningarnas Telegrambyra (TT)Sweden

  • WAN-IfraFR International

  • Xinhua News AgencyChina

  • XML Team Solutions, Inc.USA

  • IPTC Associate Members

  • Agence de Presse BelgaBelgium

  • Agencia EFESpain

  • ANA, Athens News AgencyGreece

  • AS Norsk TelegrambyråNorway

  • Athens Techology CenterGreece


  • BVPAGermany

  • Canadian PressCanada

  • Cepic - Coordination of European Picture Agencies Press Stock HeritageEurope

  • Commons Machinery in SwedenSweden

  • CorbisUSA

  • EBU - European Broadcasting UnionEurope

  • Eidos Media SpaItaly

  • epa - European Pressphoto AgencyEurope

  • Fingerpost LtdUK

  • ITAR-TASSRussia

  • LusaPortugal

  • Mainstream Data Inc.USA

  • MecomGermany

  • MENAEgypt

  • Newspaper Association of America (NAA)USA

  • Profium OyFinland

  • RelaxNewsFrance

  • RIA NovostiRussia

  • Ritzau Bureau I'sDenmark

  • STA - Slovenian Press AgencySlovenia

  • Suomen Tietotoimisto OyFinland

  • TMNEWSItaly

  • Transtel Communications LtdUK

  • TriviumRLG LLCUSA

  • IPTC Honorary Members

  • Mr Klaus Sprick(Honorary Member) Germany

  • Mr Peter Müller(Honorary Member) Switzerland