One-page Overview of the IEET


Start: 2009-11-30, Publication: 2010-11-22



Name:Owen Ambur


Name:Institute for Ethics and Emerging Technologies


The Institute for Ethics and Emerging Technologies is a center for voices arguing for a responsible, constructive, ethical approach to the most powerful emerging technologies. We believe that technological progress can be a catalyst for positive human development so long as we ensure that technologies are safe and equitably distributed. We call this a technoprogressive orientation. We aim to showcase technoprogressive ideas about how technological progress can increase freedom, happiness, and human flourishing in democratic societies. Focusing on emerging technologies that have the potential to positively transform social conditions and the quality of human lives —especially on "human enhancement technologies"—the IEET seeks to cultivate academic, professional and popular understanding of their implications, both positive and negative, and to encourage responsible public policies for their safe and equitable use. The Institute was founded in 2004 by philosopher Nick Bostrom and bioethicist James J. Hughes. Current members of the Boards of Trustees and Directors hail from Spain, Canada, the UK, Romania, and the United States.


  • James J. Hughes Ph.D.Executive Director

  • Mike TrederManaging Director

  • Board of TrusteesMartine Rothblatt Ph.D., J.D. Art Caplan Ph.D. Dan Stoicescu

  • Board of DirectorsNick Bostrom Ph.D. George Dvorsky Mike LaTorra Giulio Prisco Mark Walker Ph.D.

  • Senior FellowsWilliam Bainbridge Ph.D. Jamais Cascio

  • FellowsRussell Blackford Ph.D. Peter Bebergal Marshall Brain Riccardo Campa Ph.D. Milan M. Ćirković Ph.D. Aubrey de Grey Ph.D. Linda M. Glenn J.D. Ben Goertzel Ph.D. Randall Mayes Andy Miah Ph.D. Ramez Naam An Ravelingien Ph.D. Douglas Rushkoff Susan Schneider Ph.D. Wrye Sententia Ph.D. Natasha Vita-More