Federal IT Shared Services Strategy - Draft for Discussion - Subject to Revision


Start: 2011-12-08


Overview - "Shared First" is the foundational paradigm for this Federal Information Technology (IT) Shared Services Strategy, which provides Federal agencies with guidance on the identification, implementation, and operation of shared services for commodity, support, and mission IT functions. The strategy is part of IT Reform #6 ("Develop a strategy for shared services") of the 25-Point Implementation Plan to Reform Federal Information Technology Management that seeks to increase return on investment (ROI), eliminate waste and duplication, improve the effectiveness of technology solutions, and reduce costs through shared approaches to program activities. This document reflects current thinking regarding the Federal Government's approach to Shared IT Services and incorporates preliminary feedback from the Federal CIO Council, Agency Chief Architects, and Managing Partner Agencies (for existing services). It is intended as a discussion draft and will evolve based on: input from agencies as they move towards shared IT services models; additional review from across the public sector; and feedback from industry, academia, and other interested groups. The final strategy document will be released in April 2012. Please provide feedback, as relevant, to with subject line of "Shared First" by January 31, 2012.

A shared IT service has six architectural components: requirements, workflow, data exchange, applications, hosting, and security/privacy controls. The first five components have a hierarchical relationship, while security/privacy controls pervade all of the component areas ... Component #1: Requirements. This includes the strategic and tactical requirements for the type(s) of functionality that the service has to provide to consumers. The number and type of functional requirements depends on the type of service area, number and diversity of participating agencies, sensitivity of information and data being exchanged. Component #2: Workflow. These are the business processes that function through the shared service. The design of the process must be such that the functional requirements from Component #1 are supported. Component #3: Data Exchange. This is the part of the business process in Component #2 that involves the creation, exchange, manipulation, storage, or deletion of data and information. Component #4: Applications. This includes the software and hardware that provide the functionality and data exchange capabilities that are identified in Components #2 and #3. Component #5: Hosting. This is the infrastructure that the application(s) are hosted in. This includes cloud-based, client-server hosting solutions. Component #6: Security and Privacy. These are the various types of logical, physical, process, and personnel controls that achieve required levels of protection and risk mitigation for the shared service.


Name:Owen Ambur


Name:Executive Office of the President of the United States



  • Federal CIO Council

  • Agency Chief Architects