About The Council


Publication: 2012-09-17



Name:Owen Ambur


Name:CIO Council


Originally established by Executive Order 13011 (Federal Information Technology) and later codified by the E-Government Act of 2002, the CIO Council is the principal interagency forum for improving agency practices related to the design, acquisition, development, modernization, use, sharing, and performance of Federal information resources. The CIO Council is one element of an interagency support structure established to achieve information resource management objectives delineated in legislation including the E-Government Act of 2002, Government Paperwork Elimination Act, Paperwork Reduction Act, Government Performance and Results Act, and the Information Technology Management Reform Act of 1996.


  • CIOC LeadersThe Chair of the CIO Council is the Deputy Director for Management for the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) and the Vice Chair is elected by the CIO Council from its membership. Membership on the Council comprises CIOs and Deputy CIOs from 28 Federal executive Agencies. Additional members of the Council include liaisons from the Chief Acquisition Officers Council, Chief Financial Officers Council, Chief Human Capital Officers Council, and other groups selected by the CIO Council’s Executive Committee. Also included as members are a representative from the Office of Science and Technology Policy and representatives from OMB’s Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs.

  • Jeffrey ZientsActing Director of Office of Management and Budget

  • Steven VanRoekelU.S. Chief Information Officer

  • Richard SpiresChief Information Officer, Department of Homeland Security

  • CIO Council CommitteesCIO Council committees, through their subcommittees and working groups, manage projects on behalf of the CIO Council to keep the Federal IT community up to date on important, timely issues. Currently, there are six CIO Council committees:

  • Accessibility CommitteeThe Accessibility Committee ensures that agencies monitor their accessibility performance and consider a variety of internal controls, holding agency managers accountable for providing an accessible environment.

  • Strategy and Planning CommitteeThe Strategy and Planning Committee develops policy, direction, and guidance to drive business process improvement, investment management, and technical decisions.

  • Management Best Practices CommitteeThe Management Best Practices Committee serves as a focal point for promoting information management/information technology (IM/IT) best practices within the Federal Government.

  • Information Security and Identity Management CommitteeThe Information Security and Identity Management Committee collaborates on identifying high-priority security and identity management initiatives and developing recommendations for policies, procedures, and standards to address those initiatives.

  • IT Workforce CommitteeThe IT Workforce Committee advocates for strategies to help develop and maintain an effective IT workforce.

  • Privacy CommitteeThe Privacy Committee improves agency practices for the protection of privacy, serving as the interagency coordination group for Senior Agency Officials for Privacy (SAOP) and Chief Privacy Officers (CPO) in Federal Government.

  • Executive CommitteeAn additional committee, the Executive Committee, is made up of the chairs of the operational committees and supports Council operations and the management of budget and cross-committee initiatives.

  • CIOC PartnersThe CIO Council also partners with other Federal executive councils to address challenges that cut across disciplines, such as financial management and procurement.