About CECP


Publication: 2013-10-15



Name:Owen Ambur



In 1998, Paul Newman approached Peter L. Malkin about creating an organization that would encourage companies to commit greater resources to charitable investments. CECP, formerly known as the Committee Encouraging Corporate Philanthropy, was officially launched on November 18, 1999 when Paul Newman, John C. Whitehead, Peter L. Malkin, Walter Shipley, and other business leaders called upon companies to respond to the needs in their communities. To this day, Paul Newman's sentiment that corporate America can be a force for good in society is still a core belief of CECP.


  • CECP Board of DirectorsCECP is led by an engaged Board of Directors. Along with the entire CECP membership, these leaders work to increase awareness among the corporate sector, the media, and the public with respect to the combined business and social value of sustained, strategic corporate philanthropy.

  • Douglas R. ConantChairman, Committee Encouraging Corporate Philanthropy; Former CEO, Campbell Soup Company

  • Kenneth T. DerrFounding Co-Chair -- Former Chairman and CEO Chevron Corporation

  • Paul L. NewmanFounding Co-Chair (Jan. 26, 1925 - Sept. 26, 2008)

  • Harold McGraw IIIChairman, President and CEO, McGraw Hill Financial

  • Irene M. DornerPresident & CEO, HSBC Bank USA, N.A.

  • Marilyn Carlson NelsonCo-CEO, Carlson Holdings, Inc.

  • John C. WhiteheadFormer Co-Chair, Goldman, Sachs & Co.; Former Deputy Secretary of State

  • Duncan L. NiederauerCEO, NYSE Euronext

  • Henrietta H. ForeChairman and CEO, Holsman International

  • James E. RohrExecutive Chairman, The PNC Financial Services Group, Inc.

  • Robert H. ForresterPresident and CEO, Newman's Own Foundation

  • Michael I. RothChairman and CEO, Interpublic Group

  • Alan G. HassenfeldChairman, Executive Committee, Hasbro, Inc.

  • Edward B. Rust, Jr.Chairman and CEO, State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company

  • Shelly LazarusChairman Emeritus, Ogilvy & Mather

  • John B. VeihmeyerChairman and CEO, KPMG LLP

  • Peter L. MalkinChairman Emeritus, Empire State Realty Trust

  • Sanford I. WeillChairman Emeritus, Citigroup Inc.

  • Sherilyn S. McCoyCEO, Avon Products, Inc.

  • CECP Honorary Chairs

  • Peter L. Malkin

  • David Rockefeller

  • Paul A. Volcker

  • Sanford I. Weill

  • John C. Whitehead